A to Z 2021 – L is for Lombard Street and Lands End

Lombard Street might be something that you would recognize as a San Francisco landmark. It is said to be the “crookedest street in the world” with 8 turns. It was originally a straight road but it was so steep that people were afraid to drive down it!

I drove down to the bottom but obviously I couldn’t drive and take pictures so I went around the block and found parking at the top of the hill. I got out and walked about halfway down.

I am lucky to be able to get these shots early in the morning and during the week before the crowds come. On the weekends sometimes there are long lines of cars waiting to go down this hill. So much so that there is talk of having to pay a toll or get a permit! I know I would be torn about living there; is it worth the inconvenience of having so many cars driving by or is the view enough to compensate for that?

Lands End is the other “L” I have for you, especially if you are someone who likes hiking trails. When we went to Immigrant Point Overlook the other day, Lands End was on the schedule as well. I tried to make things easier for my hubby by mapping out a route of several spots to hit in one sweep.

Because it is not easy for Bill to walk on all the trails, he let me out and parked to wait for me to explore and take pictures. I didn’t want to stray too far and take advantage of him so there is lots out there left to investigate. As you can see by the signpost, there are several different paths that you can take and they lead to many interesting spots.

I did walk a short way down one path because I was looking for the labyrinth but it turns out I was in the wrong part of the trail. No worries, once again I got some gorgeous views and the sun was out!

I was amazed by the size of that boat going toward the bridge. Then again, I’m amazed by the Golden Gate Bridge too!

Lands End is certainly a fitting name for this spot. I know that anybody who likes to hike would have an excellent time exploring all the different trails. One leads to the memorial of the USS San Francisco, a WWII cruiser that was involved in the Battle of Guadalcanal. And sometime I may even go back to try and find the labyrinth!

Disclaimer notice. The coloring book pages are from the inserts the San Francisco Chronicle put out and I mentioned them in my theme reveal so you can go to that to get the info about the artists if you are interested. I did the coloring and took the pictures.

About scr4pl80 (Scrap Lady)

I'm a 60-ish, married, mom to 3, creative soul looking to make the world a better place one smile at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to A to Z 2021 – L is for Lombard Street and Lands End

  1. Pingback: A to Z 2021 – Reflection | Janet's Smiles

  2. Pingback: A to Z 2021 – X is for Xeriscape and X-tras | Janet's Smiles

  3. Pingback: A to Z 2021 – S is for Steps and Salesforce | Janet's Smiles

  4. *Reasons Why I’ll Never Live in ‘Frisco*

    😄😄😄

    Absolutely amazing photos, though! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ally Bean says:

    I’ve heard of Lombard Street but didn’t know much about it. I admire your spunk about getting good photos for your posts. All those stairs, and paths, and walking up & down!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What an awesome tour guide you are. And so thoughtful about not making hubby wait too long. You grabbed some great shots…I love the one with the boat… spectacular view. All those stairs up and around, my gosh I can’t imagine driving it… does it ever snow or ice there? That would be an interesting drive (ha ha).
    Cheers,
    Crackerberries

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Tamara says:

    If Lombard Street was a “toll road” one might probably restrict the number of daily cars?
    Like for a trip to Alcatraz, you need to purchase your ticket days in advance, which makes it difficult and annoying for regular tourists ;-))) (OR you are prepared to pay double the price because there’s always some guy offering you a *deal*)
    Either way – it’s a special place to visit, and you can’t not go there.

    Spectacular view from Land’s End.

    https://thethreegerbers.blogspot.com/2021/04/a-z-2021-life-is-what-you-make-of-it.html

    Liked by 1 person

    • scr4pl80 says:

      They had proposed a bill to make it either toll or permits but Governor Newsom vetoed it. I think it is now months that you have to wait to get tickets for Alcatraz tours. Definitely something you have to plan ahead for, but then again, I usually plan stuff like that if I’m traveling.

      Like

  8. debscarey says:

    Lombard Street is rightly famous, but you’re right, I’d not be keen to live there what with all that traffic.

    A-Zing from Fiction Can Be Fun
    Normally found at Debs Despatches

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Two good tours. Nothing like our Lombard Street or Lands End 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I do remember Lombard Street. It’s pretty memorable. I can’t believe how many places you have visited that have such amazing views! Lands End is another one! Weekends In Maine

    Liked by 1 person

    • scr4pl80 says:

      It is pretty sad to think that I’ve lived in the area all my life and have never experienced these things before. I’m glad I’m finding them now and for sure I’m going back to some!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. J-Dub says:

    I’d rather walk 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. mollyscanopy says:

    Gorgeous photos — and my sympathies that you did not find the labyrinth. They seem to be constructed in very unusual places — and I’ve had similar thwarted journeys myself. Visiting from A to Z — just discovered your blog. https://mollyscanopy.com/2021/04/line-dancing-and-long-distance-friendships-atozchallenge/#comments

    Liked by 1 person

  13. AJ Blythe says:

    Eeeps, I thought I just posted but my comment has vanished. Now I don’t know whether to repeat myself or not? Tech is so painful sometimes!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. AJ Blythe says:

    I walked down Lombard St when I was holidaying in the US a million years ago. At the time I was told the road was like that because it had been too steep for horses to go down with a carriage behind. But I was obviously a foreigner so who knows what yarns I was spun.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Janet,

    Just watching movies filmed in San Francisco makes me dizzy if there’s a driving scene going down some of those hills. I’m sure I’ve seen Lombard Street in movies but didn’t know. When I saw Lands End, I was thinking of the mail order company. lol You got some great photos in both locations. I love chair side travel! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by to check out today’s Looney Tunes A-Z Art Sketch I named, Lunch. Happy A2Zing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • scr4pl80 says:

      I am sorry that it has taken me so long to visit some of these sights. I’ve lived in this area all my life and it is only now that I’m exploring.

      Like

  16. Wonderful views! I definitely prefer the Lombard zig-zagging to the idea of a straight downward pitch. Hope you find the labyrinth next time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • scr4pl80 says:

      I think a few more of the streets around the city could use a little zig zagging! I have a better idea of where the labyrinth is now so I may indeed try to find it.

      Like

  17. That crooked street fascinates me but I might hesitate to drive down! I love the Golden Gate Bridge and so wished I’d have asked my father how he felt ashes Navy ship sailed underneath. So many questions I never asked. Greet photos you gathered.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. There’s nothing like the iconic Lombard Street. Nice one.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. ghostmmnc says:

    Very interesting road! There was a book I read about a lady who lived in one of the houses on this street, and it was so scary. So many bad things happened, and it was later found to be harboring supernatural forces. The book is “The Intruders” by Pat Montandon, and is her true story about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. John Holton says:

    When I was there in ’67, the family we were staying with took us down Lombard Street. We were nuts anyway: nine people all crowded into a large sedan…

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.