A to Z 2021 – M is for McCovey Cove and Museums

If you’ve read my posts you may know that I am a San Francisco Giants fan and probably should have figured that I would try to get them in this A to Z somehow. Since the coloring book had McCovey Cove, I decided to use that as my intro.

We are very fortunate to have a great friend who has a boat and has hosted us a couple of times on trips around the Bay. Each time we go we take a break at McCovey Cove which is a little cove in the bay next to Oracle Park, where the Giants play. It may be an “unofficial name” but everybody around here certainly knows about it. During games the cove is filled with people in boats and kayaks trying to catch a home run ball.

If you look closely you can see that the scoreboard has changed from one picture to the next. The newest one is on the bottom. HUGE screen.

Also in the cove is a statue of Willie McCovey.

There is also the Lefty O’Doul bridge, named after another famous Giant. The bridge rises to let boats pass through. It is really interesting to watch it. You can just see one coming through on the right. The parking lot to the ballpark is across the street so you have to walk over that bridge to get to the stadium. We take the train though so don’t really get to that side much.

We went to our first game since the pandemic last weekend. It was so much fun. The Giants are being very cautious and you have to show proof of vaccination or negative Covid test taken within 72 hours of the game along with your id. Seats are separated a lot as they are only operating at 22% capacity. There was no one sitting directly in front of us or directly behind. There was no one else in our row so we never had to cross in front of anyone if we had to use the restroom. The concession stands were open but you ordered from your seat and then they notified you when your food was ready. It was very well organized and I felt comfortable being there.

M is also for Museums and there are a lot of those as well. I mentioned the deYoung Museum when I talked about the exhibit for the Summer of Love. It is located in Golden Gate Park near the Japanese Tea Garden. When I drove by there recently they were having a Freida Kahlo exhibit.

On the way to Lands End we saw the Legion of Honor Fine Arts Museum

Along Fisherman’s Wharf I mentioned the Wax Museum but there was also the Maritime Museum. The building looks like an ocean liner and was built as part of the New Deal Works Progress Administration in 1939. Imagine if the American Jobs Act gets passed, we could see more things like this happening.

There is the Museum of Modern Art located in downtown and the California Academy of Sciences, also in Golden Gate Park. There is an Asian Art Museum, a Contemporary Jewish Museum, a Museum of African Diaspora and even a Cable Car Museum which I tried to go to but couldn’t really find.

I got all excited when I saw there was a Museum of Ice Cream but when I went to take pictures there was a lot of construction going on in the streets around it and besides being closed, it didn’t have any windows for me to look in. Another disappointment, but maybe I’ll wait a while and try again for that one and the Cable Car Museum.

I keep thinking that these museums will have windows like a storefront but they are all in buildings with minimal signage. Maybe because they don’t want people breaking the glass to get in and steal things. That would make sense!

Anyway, that’s my “M” and I’m sticking to it. Hope to see you tomorrow for “N.” Any guesses?

Disclaimer notice. The coloring book pages are from the inserts the San Francisco Chronicle put out and I mentioned them in my theme reveal so you can go to that to get the info about the artists if you are interested.

About scr4pl80 (Scrap Lady)

I'm a 60-ish, married, mom to 3, creative soul looking to make the world a better place one smile at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to A to Z 2021 – M is for McCovey Cove and Museums

  1. Pingback: M is for Musical, Museum, Mini-Golf | Janet's Smiles

  2. Pingback: Oh My! Now It’s October… | Janet's Smiles

  3. cassmob says:

    Not all museums work for me but we enjoyed the Academy of Science and the Legion of Honor.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: A to Z 2021 – Reflection | Janet's Smiles

  5. Imagine… I’ve never been to s baseball game. Guess as hubby isn’t a fan. That Ice Cream museum sounds like fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    • scr4pl80 says:

      I’m going to have to try to get back to the ice cream museum. We love going to the Giants games. Baseball is my sport. I don’t care about any of the others.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Tamara says:

    Glad you had a nice time at the Giants game! The way you describe it, it sounds like they are doing a wonderful job providing a safe experience for the fans. Can’t wait for our sporting events to lift restrictions.

    Boo for the disappointment at the Ice Cream Museum. Give it another try and report back?

    https://thethreegerbers.blogspot.com/2021/04/a-z-2021-networking-is-enrichment.html

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I absolutely want COVID to be over and for us to return to “normal” including fully packed baseball stadiums. That said, it sounds nice to have so much space to spread out and enjoy the game. Glad you were able to get back to a game and that they did such a great job keeling things safe. The harbor boat ride seems like a fantastic option too! Weekends In Maine

    Liked by 2 people

    • scr4pl80 says:

      I really enjoyed the empty spaces around us. It made it much easier to even see and concentrate on the game. Oftentimes there are too many side conversations going on around me and I tend to listen – LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Liam says:

    I saw a couple of baseball games there back in 2001. One of the loveliest settings for a baseball park anywhere!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I wonder how many people fall overboard trying to catch balls. 🙂 Fun post. I hope when you eventually get to visit the ice cream museum, they don’t serve vintage cones.

    Liked by 1 person

    • scr4pl80 says:

      LOL, Deborah, me too. We see the guys out in the cove trying to catch the balls and yes, they do occasionally fall overboard. I’ll bet that water is freezing! I’d rather sit in the stands.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. mollyscanopy says:

    Great choices for Letter M. I have been hearing about stadiums opening, so it was interesting to read about your experience as a fan. I am in NYC, and I’m thinking of going to one of our museums as my first recreational event since Covid began. A friend and I, who are vaccinated, are now making plans for May. https://mollyscanopy.com/2021/04/margot-moose-and-ancestral-connections-atozchallenge/

    Liked by 1 person

    • scr4pl80 says:

      I really felt like the Giants did a great job of planning for this opening. I would imagine that as time goes on and there are no incidents, they might start allowing more people in. I know that it makes a big difference now that the family has almost all been vaccinated.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. You ever catch a home run ball? That was always fun to try to do at Fenway (never caught one). Holy museums! There’s a lot…I was looking forward to getting some ice cream I mean seeing some pictures. Maybe next time. I have no clue what N could be….how about some wine from Napa Valley? I like wine.
    Cheers, Crackerberries

    Liked by 1 person

    • scr4pl80 says:

      Well, Napa was in the coloring book pages but I’m focusing on strictly San Francisco. Funny story, I was dating my husband’s brother at the time and the three of us went to a Giants game at Candlestick Park. The brother wandered off as he usually did, leaving me alone with my eventual husband. All of a sudden a foul ball came right to us and Bill (my hubby) caught it! It has always made Giants games special for us. I eventually dumped the brother – LOL.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Laurie says:

    One of my best memories of San Francisco is watching a Phillies- Giants game there. The only thing that could have made it even better was if the Phillies would have won! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.