A to Z 2021 – K is for Kerouac Alley and Kite Hill

Hello and welcome to the letter “K” in our A to Z Challenge this year. In an effort to be completely transparent, I am using one of the locations that was a disappointment for me, Kerouac Alley.

I mean, reading the description that Wiki has for it and even looking at some of the pictures that Trip Advisor has made it seem like a really cool place to go and it filled one of the more difficult (for me) letters in the challenge. When I got there, it was early in the morning so admittedly none of the shops were open yet, however, I didn’t even attempt to go down the alley to look for the inscriptions that are supposed to be there.

My initial disappointment was in the street sign itself. The other side had a bunch of stickers over it so you couldn’t even read the name. This side had no stickers but it did have an electrical wire wrapped around it. I mean, come on folks.

Looking down the alleyway, I could see someone standing around there and since I was by myself, I didn’t think it would be smart to go down.

City Lights is a famous bookstore and it would have been nice to be able to go inside but it wasn’t open yet and, again, there was someone standing around (I purposely avoided taking his picture) so I didn’t feel comfortable getting any closer.

So all in all, that was not the exciting experience I was looking for, but as I said, in the spirit of transparency, I’m including it. Maybe if my husband had been with me we’d have ventured farther down the alley.

Then I had to scramble to see if I could find another “K” spot. OMG I did and what a good one it was! Much like the Ina Coolbrith Park, Kite Hill Open Space is tucked away in a corner in the middle of a residential area.

It was another hike up a hill but it was certainly worth it.

Kind of a neat path. Not too steep because it was on a curve.

Once at the top the view was amazing. Too bad the day was so cloudy.

There were a couple of places to sit and enjoy those views.

My dad used to give me a kite for my birthday every year. What fun it would have been to take it up to Kite Hill to fly it!

So even though Kerouac Alley was a bust, I think I managed to save the letter “K” with a Kite.

About scr4pl80 (Scrap Lady)

I'm a 60-ish, married, mom to 3, creative soul looking to make the world a better place one smile at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to A to Z 2021 – K is for Kerouac Alley and Kite Hill

  1. Pingback: A to Z 2021 – Reflection | Janet's Smiles

  2. Pingback: A to Z 2021 – S is for Steps and Salesforce | Janet's Smiles

  3. Pingback: A to Z 2021 – N is for North Beach and Nob Hill | Janet's Smiles

  4. debscarey says:

    Janet, what a shame about Kerouac Alley, but you’re right – the views from Kite Hill saved the day. You must be so fit with all those hills to climb!

    A-Zing from Fiction Can Be Fun
    Normally found at Debs Despatches

    Liked by 2 people

    • scr4pl80 says:

      Well, the 70 pounds I lost certainly helps. I don’t know if I’d have been able to manage it at 238 pounds!

      Liked by 1 person

      • debscarey says:

        Janet, that is seriously impressive. I was happy with the 20 lbs I lost last year – even though there’s plenty more to go. I shall use you & your hills as a source of inspiration!

        Liked by 1 person

      • scr4pl80 says:

        Thanks Deb. I followed a Keto plan although I modified it a bit so as not to have so much fat. Didn’t want my cholesterol to go up! I am on a plateau right now and need to get back to it seriously to lose the last 20 pounds I want to lose.

        Like

  5. Janet,

    The views from those hills in San Francisco are amazing. I would love to visit the city if for nothing else to take photos. 🙂 Wait, isn’t Ghiraradelli located there? Yes, they are! I’d definitely go to their store. 😀

    Check out today’s Looney Tunes’ Art Sketch of Kiss Me Cat when y’all get a chance. Happy A2Zing, folks!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Interesting site of Kite Hill… seems to be appropriately named! The book store looked interesting- is it a as used book store? I look for those in search of older Nancy Drew books.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Not every trip is fun. Good to feature the rough with the smooth

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Tamara says:

    Jack Kerouac Alley is considered one of the five spots of the Beat Generation. That’s the thing though with “hidden gems” – the beauty lies in the eye of the beholder. And sometimes we’re just there at the wrong time. Maybe pre (and after!!) Covid it’ll be charming, especially if you can enjoy a cup of coffee at Vesuvio Cafe?

    Glad you had a lovely time at Kite Hill 🙂

    K is a tough letter. Even the Krispy Kreme location at 353 Jefferson St. in Fisherman’s Wharf, was forced to close 😦

    https://thethreegerbers.blogspot.com/2021/04/a-z-2021-kill-two-birds-with-one-stone.html

    Liked by 1 person

    • scr4pl80 says:

      Thanks Tamara. I’m pretty sure that if the hubs had been with me I’d have ventured down the street and it may not have been as bad as it looked.

      Like

  9. Those are great views of the city! It was worth the hike up.

    There is a kite festival in the summers at a local park near me. It’s fun to go and see so many kits in the sky together.

    Weekends In Maine

    Liked by 1 person

  10. J-Dub says:

    Too bad the shops weren’t open or Kerouac Alley might have been better.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. The Gang at LLB says:

    Great save! San Francisco is such a beautiful city, but I can relate to how some areas don’t feel as safe as others.

    Liked by 1 person

    • scr4pl80 says:

      I think I might have taken the chance if the sign had not been all messed up. That made me think that perhaps it’s not such a well kept area anymore. No sense taking any chances just for a picture.

      Like

  12. That’s disappointing about Kerouac alley, but Kite Hill looks like quite the find. Kite flying is fabulous, and how fun you used to get a birthday one every year. I think you should treat yourself to one now that you have a great place to fly it.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. So when I first saw the sign, I thought it looked like a hanging rope (YIKES) so I was happy to read that it was just an electric wire…still. Glad to read that you found a much better place for a walk and take some snapshots…that path looks like my kinda walking path, nice and easy and not too steep. Even though it was cloudy, those are some great pictures. I remember flying kites over the Atlantic Ocean in Maine. My sister and I would see who could get theirs out over the water the farthest. I don’t know who ever won… I think we both ended up losing them the water. Hope you have a great day and thanks for visiting my kids rant. Have a great day.
    Crackerberries

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Iain Kelly says:

    Well done on managing to save the letter ‘K’ with an emergency find! Poor Kerouac – I ownder if he would have appreciated the alley named after him?

    THE STATE TRILOGY A-Z GUIDE: K

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Ally Bean says:

    At least you can say you tried to enjoy Kerouac Alley. I agree with you about Kite Hill. It looks like it was well-named even if you do have to walk up and down all those stairs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • scr4pl80 says:

      Yes, Ally, and like I said, it might have been different if my hubby was there with me. Still, it didn’t really make me want to go back as some of these other places have.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.