A to Z 2021 – H is for Haight-Ashbury and the Hills

I was in Catholic grammar school during the Haight-Ashbury heyday so I didn’t really get involved with the hippie drug scene. I did know a little bit about it though and a few years ago when the de Young Museum had an exhibit called “The Summer of Love Experience” we went to check it out. I wrote about that here. My husband is a little older than me and had lived in San Francisco for a while so he was very familiar with the era and the area. I do love the clothes! I really want the suede jacket and the blue crochet sweater, although I bet that one is pretty heavy.

They had flower shaped cookies in the gift shop. My coat looks like it belongs in the show, doesn’t it? After the exhibit we rode around the streets in the Haight-Ashbury neighborhood for a while. They certainly have some interesting places including some more Victorian houses.

The famous Grateful Dead House is in the Haight-Ashbury district too. It is the one in the middle with the gate but I kind of like the purple one next door. Just regular folks own it now.

Also, in case you haven’t noticed so far, there are definitely a lot of hills in San Francisco! Look at what I’ve been driving through, and sometimes walking up and down, to get pictures for your entertainment! Sometimes I get a little nervous, even when I’m in my car. Thank goodness for automatic transmissions. If I had to use a clutch – I shudder to think.

In fact San Francisco is said to have been built on seven hills: Telegraph Hill (where Coit Tower is), Nob Hill, Russian Hill, Rincon Hill, Twin Peaks, Lone Mountain (or Mt. Sutro) and Mt. Davidson.

Mt. Davidson is the highest natural point in the city (928 feet!) so I thought I’d give that a look see. The coyote alert didn’t stop me because it was daytime and there were some other folks around so I figured the coyotes would stay away. The hike up the hill was definitely worth the view (click for 16 second video).

At the top of the hill hidden in the trees is a giant cross. It was Palm Sunday when I went up and people had brought some palms and left them at the base of the cross. I am amazed that you can’t see the cross until you get at the top of the hill. It is 103 feet high itself!

I didn’t know until I was writing this post that they have an Easter Sunday sunrise service every year. I bet that is spectacular. You may also remember the cross from a scene in the first Dirty Harry movie. I don’t know how they were able to run and move around on that hill in the dark. It took all my concentration in the daylight!

It seems like there are a million hills in San Francisco and I may, or may not write about a few more of them, we still have letters in the A to Z Challenge left. Hope you’ll climb them with me.

About scr4pl80 (Scrap Lady)

I'm a 60-ish, married, mom to 3, creative soul looking to make the world a better place one smile at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to A to Z 2021 – H is for Haight-Ashbury and the Hills

  1. cassmob says:

    That exhibition would have been such fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: A to Z 2021 – Reflection | Janet's Smiles

  3. Pingback: A to Z 2021 – V is for Vaillancourt Fountain and Valleys | Janet's Smiles

  4. Pingback: A to Z 2021 – S is for Steps and Salesforce | Janet's Smiles

  5. Love the pics from the museum. Awesome clothes. I had some hippie clothes in growing up. Fun memories. Thanks for showing. I’d never make all those hills! Good that you have good knees!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I had a short suede jacket very similar to the long one! Memories! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. debscarey says:

    Very cool photos & so evocative of the time – lucky you living in such a great place 🙂

    A-Zing from Fiction Can Be Fun
    Normally found at Debs Despatches

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dena Pawling says:

    Lovely view from the top of that hill.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: A to Z 2021 – I is for Ina Coolbrith Park and Immigrant Point Overlook | Janet's Smiles

  10. Nicely evocative. I left my Catholic grammar school in 1960, but was still too repressed for the time

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Hello my smiling friend. I love that I get to see and visit all of your adventures through the hills of San Francisco. One day we may get to go for real. Catholic grammar school huh? I had a teacher that used a yard stick and whacked us with it if our feet were in the isles. Feet go under your desk, straight ahead. Miss Chandler, I’ll never forget her. I never was part of the HIPPY scene but Omigosh I sometimes wish I were. I love those boots and …hmmmm maybe not the sweater but definitely the suede jacket. And those palm crosses are so moving.
    Have a great day.
    Cheers,
    Crackerberries

    Like

  12. Tamara says:

    Fortunately in SF you can go places on foot. Driving and parking on these steep hills, even with automatic transmissions, is not my idea of fun.I absolutely love the Victorian houses, they’re so pretty.
    Speaking of Easter (Monday, I believe) and steep hills, do they still do the tricycle race down Lombard Street? I once saw a video, and it was so fun.

    https://thethreegerbers.blogspot.com/2021/04/a-z-2021-home-is-where-your-heart-is.html

    Like

  13. I do remember all those hills. When my college roommate and I went on our California adventure, we rented a car and as soon as she saw the pacific coast highway she opted out of driving so I did most of it. We must have rented an automatic because I think I would have freaked in a manual transmission trying to navigate those San Francisco streets. Weekends In Maine

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Liam says:

    Coincidentally my daughter is rewatching Ant-Man and the Wasp right now. I remember the first time we watched this I was telling the kids how much Hollywood loves filming car chases in San Francisco because all the hills make for cool jumps.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Great post. I’m totally a hippie at heart. Flowers, colorful clothing, working to change societal paradigms, and giving peace a chance – so much to love!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. ghostmmnc says:

    It’s amazing to see those steep streets! I doubt I could drive or even walk there. We here are totally flat! haha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. John Holton says:

    When Mary and I went to San Francisco in ’97, I talked her into going to Haight-Ashbury. When we got there, a young couple was having a pretty serious argument, and she was spitting on him. Peace love dope, hu?

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Thanks for these great memories. I remember those days well. The clothing was fabulous! And creativity abounded. I graduated college in January of 1971 and my then husband and I drove to Santa Rosa, California from Florida so he could finish up his degree at Sonoma State college. We were two kids in our early 20’s and went to San Fran on weekends. I designed and made clothing very similar to the ones in your photos. Styles were simplistic but extremely colorful. Jeans were wide and flowing and tops cheerful and bright. No makeup, long loose hair… a wonderful time to be young. The people I hung out with were theatre and music folks so they weren’t really into drugs. It was more about their art, protesting for equality and ending the Vietnam war. And music, music, music. Thanks for bringing me back in time. Peace, love and rock n roll! ✌️❤️🎸

    Liked by 1 person

    • scr4pl80 says:

      Hi Lesley! My daughter went to Sonoma State. That is a beautiful area too. I am still with the no makeup! Sounds like you had a wonderful experience. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

      • They used to have a fantastic theatre dept. and their dance and music program was excellent too. I worked in the costume dept for a while.
        These days I’m actually loving make-up. Going through chemo I had to draw in eyebrows so I didn’t look like an alien and blush to keep from looking like a zombie. I’ve come to appreciate it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • scr4pl80 says:

        I can imagine. My daughter got a Psych degree. She uses it a lot on the rest of us – LOL

        Liked by 1 person

  19. I’ll be happy to do some blog-climbing with you!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.