Rocktober Music Fest – 2019 – and other October Oddities

I, who take pictures of almost anything for almost any reason, am seriously bad at taking family photos.  I just spent the day with my two sisters, my mom and my niece and got not one.  I think the last time we have all been together was for my older sister’s funeral 17 years ago!  Well, it is just an excuse for me to visit again, don’t you think?

In other news, there is a competition currently underway for the new Stream of Consciousness Saturday badge and I’m going to enter!  Here is my take on it:

Like a stream of light you know and all the twinkling stars are the miscellaneous thoughts that float through your head.  At least that’s what I was thinking.  It was taken at a Phil Collins concert last year, which leads me to the Rocktober Music Fest entry for today.  (See how I did that?)

Phil Collins has made a lot of music, both with Genesis and on his own.  I recently read his book, “Not Dead Yet” which was also the name of this tour.  It is true he does have health issues and is not able to move around the stage much but he still puts on a great show.

 

We saw him when they had the Genesis reunion tour in 2007, although Peter Gabriel was not with them.

 

On this tour he has his son with him to play drums and piano.  It was really fun to see them play together and his son is a pretty good drummer!

 

Phil is on the second leg of his tour which he has called, “Still Not Dead Yet” and he was at the new Chase Center in San Francisco last night but we didn’t go.  The reviews say he shows his age but can still carry the show.  It says he hinted at a Genesis reunion which would be interesting too.

Here’s “You’ll Be In My Heart” from when my son and I saw him last year.

My mom doesn’t read my blog or even get on a computer but I hope she knows that even though she is far away from me now, she’ll always be in my heart too!

What do you think of my badge?  Have you seen Phil lately?  Share!

from Blogger http://asmile4ufromjanet.blogspot.com/2019/10/rocktober-music-fest-2019-and-other_18.html

via IFTTT

About scr4pl80 (Scrap Lady)

I'm a 60-ish, married, mom to 3, creative soul looking to make the world a better place one smile at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Rocktober Music Fest – 2019 – and other October Oddities

  1. Pingback: We Have a Winner! 2019-2020 SoCS Badge Edition |

  2. JoAnna says:

    What a great idea! I hadn’t thought of a stream of light, but it works! Love Phil Collins.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Vote Here for the 2019-2020 SoCS Badge |

  4. LindaGHill says:

    Very nice, Janet! Thanks so much, and good luck! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Janet,

    I’ve always liked Phil Collins. He’s put out some great hits over the years. ‘You Will Be In Heart’ is a lovely song. I like the version featuring Glenn Close singing. It’s very sweet. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mary B says:

    Great choice! I saw him perform on a talk show just before he started the Not Dead Yet Tour. It’s hard to see him with his health struggles, but am glad that he still makes the effort.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. J-Dub says:

    Well yes no picture is definitely a reason to go back and visit again. I love the stream of light coming down onto the stage. I’m not gonna listen to the song just yet because I’m in public and I don’t want to cry in front of people. Such a sentimental thing. So many memories flooding back. Happy day Janet!! Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Shelley says:

    I love your entry for the badge!! Nice job. I think I entered mine too late…oh well. I love Phil Collins, so many great songs to sing along with while driving in my car.

    Liked by 1 person

    • scr4pl80 says:

      Thanks Shelley. I think it was a bit confusing because when Linda first put up the post the comments were turned off so there wasn’t a place to actually post your entry. I know she’s been under the weather too. If it was too late this year, try for next year!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. songbird1329 says:

    Phil Collins, good choice.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’m behind on my reading, but I’m catching up! I love Phil Collins. I’ve never seen a photo of his son, and he’s a cutie! I absolutely love the photo you used for stream of consciousness–soooo cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. ghostmmnc says:

    Very pretty! I like your idea of all the twinkling lights as being our thoughts. Good luck! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Ally Bean says:

    That old guy talking into the microphone is Phil Collins? Oh I had no idea. Not that there’s anything wrong with aging, just. did. not. know. how he looks now.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.