November to Remember

November 11 – Cherished Memory #11

I’ve done a lot of “firsts” so far, first kiss, first car, first job, so now we come to first apartment.

I was 21 years old and still living in my parent’s house.  Mind you, that was not a bad thing really.  I had a full time job, I had a car, I could come and go generally as I pleased but I felt like I was never going to grow up if I stayed there much longer.  In our old-fashioned Italian Catholic family, however, girls didn’t usually move out without being married.  I had no prospects in that department and figured that I wouldn’t meet many people without branching out.

My mom was upset when I told the family that my plan was to be on my own by the time I turned 22.  I asked for household things like pots and pans and cookbooks for Christmas that year and I banked every penny I could.  My older sister said she would go apartment hunting with me and that made my mom feel a little better.

I scrapbooked the adventure.  I even had my old calendars to add!

The bottom two windows were my front room and dining room windows.  It was a one bedroom apartment with a garage in the back.  I loved it.  I was on my own!  The landlord let us paint and wallpaper and even though I didn’t have much, it was mine!  My first major purchase was a waterbed, which I had to buy on credit, such an adult!

It was right down the street from the local high school and I used to see the kids walking to school in the morning.  Years later, I drove by when I took our kids to school.  Such memories!  Cherished!
How about you?  First apartment?  

About scr4pl80

I'm a 60-ish, married, mom to 3, creative soul.
This entry was posted in 30 Days of Cherished Memories, moving out. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to November to Remember

  1. Janet Miles says:

    I don't remember ever seeing either of those places! Guess we were too busy with school and work to party much then!

    Like

  2. My first apartment was in Palo Alto..on Park Blvd ( had to look it up). Loved it..was there about a year before I got married and moved to Mountain View.

    Like

Comments are closed.