A to Z Challenge – 2016

E is for…

Eight track tape:

According to Wikipedia, eight tracks were formerly called Stereo 8 and were a magnetic tape sound recording technology that was popular in the mid-60’s to late 70’s when the Compact Cassette format took over.

This is what they looked like:

Some people had them in their cars.  I did not.  In fact, by the time I was able to drive and get a car, cassette tapes had already started to take over. 

I never owned any eight tracks.  I remember my sister and brother-in-law had them and when I would babysit my nephews sometimes I would listen to them.
It seems to me that eight track tapes weren’t around very long, but maybe that’s because I never owned any. 
At any rate, that’s my “E” in the A to Z Challenge.  Guess you can tell some letters are going to be longer than others.  Keeping up?  We have a way to go!      
Did you have eight tracks?  Still have them?  Love to hear about it.

About scr4pl80

I'm a 60-ish, married, mom to 3, creative soul.
This entry was posted in eight track tapes. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A to Z Challenge – 2016

  1. I had a ton of 8-tracks! What a great classic rock collection I had on 8-tracks. I used to drive around and blast them from my '71 Monte Carlo. They sucked though. No wonder they didn't last. They'd switch tracks in the middle of a song, the tape would warp from overplay and then you'd have to use a pack of matches or rolling papers to wedge under the cartridge so the tape wouldn't drag during play. Ay-yi-yi, they were a mess!
    My brother tried to tell me to get cassettes because 8-tracks were on their way out but no, I just had to be like him and have the 8-tracks. In hindsight, I'm glad I did because they're so fun to talk about! 🙂 Not to mention that it really dates me…

    Good one for E!

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  2. betty says:

    My brother had 8 track tapes! By the time I started driving a few years later, cassette tapes were the “rage”

    betty

    Like

  3. Janet Miles says:

    Hi Eli, thanks for stopping by!

    Like

  4. My parents had tons of eight tracks! One peculiarity: Sometimes, a song would be interrupted from one track to the next. It would fade out, and fade back in.

    Glad I found you through the A to Z Challenge!

    Eli@CoachDaddy (#1207)

    Like

  5. Janet Miles says:

    Not at all! My iPhone syncs with my new car so I just let it play whatever it wants!

    Like

  6. Janet Miles says:

    Little GTO…I remember that well. Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

  7. Janet Miles says:

    To true. Seems to me that cassettes have been around longer than eight tracks though.

    Like

  8. Janet Miles says:

    I seem to remember that they always sounded scratchy. Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

  9. Wendy says:

    HA – blast from the past! I remember songs being divided between the tracks. Nobody would put up with that today.
    Repaying the visit from AtoZ
    Wendy
    Jollett Etc.

    Like

  10. Sue McPeak says:

    Yep, had some of those and played them in our GTO. Perfect for some Beach Boys music. They are easy finds at Flea Markets, but hard to find a player for them. Cassettes are the only music from that era I have left…again hard to find a player with good sound. It's all about CD's and Iphone music…which I don't do. Thanks for the memories!

    Like

  11. No eight tracks for me. I've heard it's getting quite difficult to find cassette tape players now so I imagine its near impossible to find an 8-track player.

    Like

  12. Ally Bean says:

    I had a couple eight track tapes, but they were bootleg. They played in a continuous loop of not-so-wonderful quality sound. No surprise, huh?

    Like

Comments are closed.