Nostalgic November – 2015

November 5 – I’m not sure I taught my children how to fold fitted sheets.

I was folding some sheets after I washed them tonight and it brought me back to a time when I was a child living at home and watching my mom fold sheets.  I can see the kitchen so clearly, after all it was a house I lived in for 20 years.  I remember my mother taking out the ironing board and standing it in the kitchen and then plugging in the iron.  I asked her why she ironed them and she said it was because my dad liked crisp sheets.  After they were ironed she would take the fitted sheet and almost like magic she would tuck the ends in, fold the flap down and end up with an almost square sheet.  The top sheet was easier of course since the edges are all straight.  Once folded she would stack them in the closet, which was organized with all the sheets and towels neatly on the shelves.

I, on the other hand, have an iron and an ironing board but probably the last time I touched them was when we moved, 19 years ago.  Well, maybe not that long but I don’t iron as a rule, and I certainly don’t iron sheets.  I do fold the fitted sheet and the top sheet and put them and the matching pillow cases all inside one of the pillowcases to make a package of sheets.  I’ve tried to keep the closet neat but I kind of lost the battle on that front.  It’s on my list of things to do now that all the kids are out on their own.

But that brings me back to the folding of the sheets.  Have I been a bad mother?  Have I neglected an important part of their upbringing?  Will they be able to make it through life without knowing how to fold a fitted sheet?  I suppose if it is really important, they can Google it, although I just did and the video I looked at is not at all the way my mom showed me.

Maybe it’s not really the folding of the sheets that I am thinking about.  Maybe I’m just afraid that my kids won’t have fond memories of me doing things from when they were little like the ones that I have of my mom.  It seems to me that I was always too busy working, trying to be super mom and I didn’t slow down to take the time to teach them the fundamentals.  I just did it all myself because it was quicker, easier that way.

Maybe times have changed and it’s not so important for the sheets to be folded a certain way.  Maybe they will not need that particular skill.  Maybe they do have memories from their childhood and I just don’t know them.  I don’t know if I’ve ever told my mom about watching her fold sheets.  Maybe I should.   

 

About scr4pl80

I'm a 60-ish, married, mom to 3, creative soul.
This entry was posted in childhood memories, Nostalgic November. Bookmark the permalink.