Outstanding October – 2015

October 31 — Halloween

I think I have a love/hate relationship with Halloween.  I don’t know why.  Part of me loves the dressing up and pretending to be someone else for a while.

Family dress up time

I made this one

Early 1980’s

Late 1970’s

As you can tell I have a fondness for the saloon girl type.  Maybe because I am such a “good girl” all the time, this gives me a chance to let my wanton ways out for a little while.

And of course there is the candy.  Who doesn’t love candy?  (Although if I’m ever going to look like I do in those pictures again, I best stay away from that stuff now!)

I am just not so fond of the creepy, scary stuff.  For a while our son wanted to have the bloody, masked face kind of costumes.  I let him have them but they weren’t my favorites.  I also don’t like haunted houses much.  Maybe it’s a control thing, since you never know when something might pop out at you.  I like some scary movies, but more the suspense/mystery type, not the blood and guts gory type.

I remember when our oldest daughter was about 2 or 3 and about to go trick or treating for the first time (I didn’t take her out when she was smaller than that because in my opinion she was too young to know what was going on).  We took two steps out the front door and she saw other kids dressed up, got scared and we went back inside.  She didn’t really start trick or treating until she was in kindergarten with her friends.

This year all the kids are grown and out of the house and hubby is away for another week.  I will get candy to give out for the neighborhood kids but I’m not dressing up, although I may wear black and orange.  It somehow doesn’t seem the right time for a sleazy saloon girl.  Maybe something will strike me when I go to get the candy, although at this point all the “good” stuff could be gone.  

I’m adding this post to the Weekender Link Party.  Check out other bloggers’ take on Halloween!

Well, we’ve come to the end of Outstanding October.  It has been a pretty good one at that.  Next I’m thinking of going with Nostalgic November.  It seems kind of fitting because November holds Thanksgiving and spending time with family and friends.  Kind of makes you think of the “Good old days” doesn’t it?  I hope you’ll come along with me.

Let me know what you thought of my Outstanding October!  I love comments.  Happy Halloween all!

About scr4pl80

I'm a 60-ish, married, mom to 3, creative soul.
This entry was posted in dress up, Halloween, Outstanding October, scary costumes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Outstanding October – 2015

  1. Lorey Lyons says:

    I LOVE all of your pictures! I have a bit of a thing for the saloon girl look, too! (And I think all the time is sleazy saloon girl time ;D) I'm so glad you linked up!

    Like

Comments are closed.