Spectacular September – 2015

Blog-tember Day 17 — Wow, 17 days and although some of my posts have been late in the day, I’ve only really missed one day!  That’s pretty good.

Today’s prompt is to write about our current obsession.  Well, I think aside from scrapbooking, which is an obsession but also a release mechanism and a potential earning endeavor, I’d have to say that I am obsessed with challenges and self-exploration this year.  My Word of the Year in 2015 is CHANGE.  Since the beginning of the year I have participated in a lot of different challenges and e-courses hoping to learn some things about myself and help facilitate some changes in my life.  You’d think that at 60 I’d know everything there is to know about ME but that is not necessarily true.

In January I started the 2015 Reading Challenge to attempt to read 52 books this year.  I’m only on book 14 right now so definitely behind but I am going to continue to go through the list and get as many done as I can.

In addition in January I took part in the Creative Dream Incubator Workshop with Andrea Schroeder.  Through that experience I learned about change and how it is a choice you make and that things don’t have to be bad for you to want a change.  Also through this class I was introduced to Susannah Conway who talked about authenticity and sharing you story.

That led me to join Susannah’s April Love challenge where she gave us different prompts and we were to take pictures that reflected our interpretation of that word.  Such a fun concept and interesting to see everyone else’s interpretations of the same prompt.

I continued to participate some in the aftermath of that group, but in May my hubby got sick and from then until July I was concentrating on getting him better.

In July I started the Inner Excavate Along with Liz Lamoreux, another wonderful woman I had “met” through the Creative Dream Incubator in January.  This Inner Excavate-Along follows her book Inner Excavations and is something I will be going back to again and again.

In August I was involved with two things at the same time, Sparkles with Jaime Ridler and August Break, another Susannah Conway photo project.

Which brings us to September and here I am doing this Blog-tember challenge.

Through all of these experiences, I am “meeting” lots of interesting people, learning plenty of new things and slowly but surely making some changes to myself and/or learning to accept the things I was unhappy with, realizing that they weren’t that bad after all.

Right now I don’t know of any other challenges for this year but I think I have my hands full with the ones I’ve got going on at the moment.

Obsessed with challenges!  What’s your obsession currently?

About scr4pl80

I'm a 60-ish, married, mom to 3, creative soul.
This entry was posted in 2015 April Love, 2015 reading challenge, Andrea Schroeder, August break, Inner Excavation, Jamie Ridler, Liz Lamoreux, Susannah Conway. Bookmark the permalink.