Spectacular September – 2015

September 3 – Blog-tember prompt…”Make a collage that describes your blog.”

 I truly believe that friends and family are our most important assets and something to be treasured.  I believe that spreading a positive outlook and sharing a smile, even (and sometimes especially) with strangers, can make our world a better place.  It is amazing what can happen if we are mindfully present when going through our daily routine tasks.  A smile and using the name of the cashier at the grocery store can change a mundane chore into a memorable one and validates the work the cashier is doing.  Try it the next time you are shopping. I’ll bet it makes a difference.
 
 I also believe that it is important to
preserve the memories of our past so that the present and future generations can get a sense of where they came from and what their ancestors mean in their lives.  I only knew one of my grandparents as the others had passed away before I was born.  I wish I knew more about the others and I try to tell my children what I do know about our family and encourage them to get stories from their grandmothers as well.

I am just now (at 60!) learning how important it is to make some time for myself.  Being wife, mother, daughter, sister and working woman are all very significant functions, but if I lose sight of who I am, I can’t do those other jobs to the best of my ability.  Making everyone else happy is not always making me happy, yet if I am happy, it is easier to make others happy.  Funny how that works.  I need to realize I am not being selfish by stopping to recharge my own batteries!

Creativity, music (love my concerts!), inspiration, friendship and sharing are all at the core of what my blog is about, or at least what I am hoping is coming across through my posts.  Admittedly, not every post is a happy post (like when I wrote about losing our pet cat, Whisper), but thankfully those sad posts are at a minimum.  And, since I have a link to my Etsy site on the blog, if I can sell something I’ve made or get an order to make a custom order for someone, that’s a bonus in my eyes.

So, there’s A Smile 4 U from Janet!  I’d love to hear from you!  Let me know what you think about it.  Also, if you’d like to visit some other bloggers participating in this adventure, click the Blog-tember picture on the right side of the page.      

About scr4pl80

I'm a 60-ish, married, mom to 3, creative soul.
This entry was posted in Blogtember Challenge, collage, smile. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spectacular September – 2015

  1. Janet Miles says:

    Hi Heather! Thanks for stopping by. Isn't it amazing the things you learn as you go through challenges such as this? Looking forward to the rest of the month.

    Like

  2. I agree so much! Making time for self is so essential to be able to give back 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.