2015 – Reading Challenge – Book 13

I finished “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” a lot quicker than “Zorba The Greek” thank goodness.  I must say that I found the movie better than the book but I was surprised to find that the book is written from the point of view of the Indian character.  I didn’t get that from the movie.

Now on to book 13.  Hopefully this will be another quick read.  It is called “Maybe the Moon” by Armistead Maupin.

I can remember reading his “Tales of The City” when I was in high school and it was first published as a series in the San Francisco Chronicle.  It was a risque adventure for me, reading about gays and marijuana! I led a very sheltered life.  Later, I read Tales in the book form and also read all the other books in that series.

This book is supposedly based upon the life of the small person actress who played inside the costume of ET.  Apparently that person is a friend of Mr. Maupin’s.  I am counting this book as my “book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet.”  I use small person as a description because I am not sure yet whether dwarf or midget is correct.  The book also mentions the Munchkins of Oz.  Should be an interesting tale.    

We are in week 33 of the year so unless I do practically nothing else for the rest of the year, I’m pretty sure I’m not going to make the 52 book challenge, especially considering I still have to read a book with more than 500 pages!  In any case, I am having fun exploring the different categories and that’s what it’s all about!  How about you?  Are you on your 33rd book of the year?

About scr4pl80

I'm a 60-ish, married, mom to 3, creative soul.
This entry was posted in 2015 reading challenge, Armistead Maupin, ET, midget, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, Tales of the City. Bookmark the permalink.