April Love 2015

April 21 – A happy memory

I am blessed to say that most of my memories are happy ones.  I won’t go into childhood memories (since I know there is another prompt coming up about “when I was small”), other than to say that I had a very happy childhood with two parents who loved each other, and my sisters and I, and always showed it.

As far as adult happy memories, top of the list is when I married this guy almost 32 years ago.  It was a very low key, but very special day out overlooking Lake Tahoe.

Then there were the births of our three children, each one a special happy memory, and a story just as different as they are.

But, since we are talking about self-love this month, one of my best memories has to be when I moved out of my parents house and into my first apartment on my own.  I felt so grown up.  I had made a promise to myself that I wanted to be in my own apartment by the time I turned 22 and I made it with just a few days to spare.  
I lived on the ground floor when I first moved in.  It was a one bedroom with a sunny corner dining area and a pretty good sized living room.  My sister helped me find it and then she helped me paint the kitchen and put wallpaper up in the bathroom.  Just to the left of the stairway in the picture is the driveway and I had a separate garage.  I didn’t always have very much money but I was creative with decorations and the feeling of independence was just what I needed at that time.  These pictures are in a scrapbook album I made of the adventure of finding the perfect place for me to grow.  
Living room.  Tiny TV!

View from living room to dining area

 There have been a few times in my busy live now where I have longed for the peace and quiet I had in this special spot, but I think that by living here, at that time, I was preparing myself for the life I love today.

Kitchen we wallpapered

What about you? Would love to hear about your happy memory!

About scr4pl80

I'm a 60-ish, married, mom to 3, creative soul.
This entry was posted in 2015 April Love, apartment, childbirth, growing up., Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.