April Love – 2015

April 10 — My superpower:

I would have to say Patience.  They say that patience is a virtue but I believe it to be a superpower as well.

I was once promoted to a receptionist/office manager position because of my calm, even temperament.  It was a very busy doctor’s office with five doctors and they knew that I would be able to handle the pressure and keep the rest of the staff calm.

My husband and I didn’t find each other until I was about 27.  It was hard waiting for Mr. Right when everyone else was a “couple” already.  As a mother, I’ve had to have patience with the kids even before they were born as the first two were a week late!  The third one came early but once she started, it took another 13 hours for her to appear (fortunately, no hard labor all that time, just waiting patiently!)

I believe it to be a superpower though because, when practiced, it can change the situation around you.  Imagine standing in the grocery line behind a “problem” in front of you.  You know the ones who want to split their order into two or three purchase, the ones where the price won’t ring correctly, a new clerk, a slow bagger, 15 items in the 10 or less lane?  Sometimes I get in those situations and the checker will look at me to gauge my reaction.  If I show that I am calm, patient, not getting frustrated or upset by what is happening, I believe that they relax and can keep the situation under control also.  If, however, I show signs of impatience or growing anger, then I believe it affects them as well, perhaps causing them to try to go faster or make a mistake, etc.  Further, once it is my turn in line, I try to let the clerk know that I sympathize with them and let them know that they are doing a great job.  That, in turn, relaxes them for my order which usually goes very smoothly.  Perhaps I have used my superpower to stop their day from escalating from bad to worse!  That’s just one common example.  There are tons more I’m sure.

One of the quotes I have saved is this one:  “Slow down and enjoy life.  It’s not only the scenery you miss by going too fast — you also miss the sense of where you are going and why.”  As I get older, I can really see the truth in this.  Even with my super patience power, I did lose sight of the where and why for a while.  This April Love is helping me get it back!

Oh yeah, my other superpower?  The SMILE!  That really does wonders to change things.  Try it and see!

What’s your superpower?  Leave me a comment, I’d love to know.

About scr4pl80

I'm a 60-ish, married, mom to 3, creative soul.
This entry was posted in 2015 April Love, smile, superpower. Bookmark the permalink.