Ring Around My Finger

I’ve been married for almost 31 years and was engaged for about a year before that so I’ve been wearing a ring on my left hand for quite some time.  I love my wedding ring because when I first saw it, it looked like a castle with the smaller stones leading up the path to the big one in the middle.

In all these years I have never taken them off for any length of time, not even when I had major surgery.  I made the nurses put tape around my finger.

Around the time of our 10th anniversary I got an anniversary band to wear as well. It made a pretty bit of bling on my hand when the light hit it just right.  

Last night I happened to look a my hand and noticed the space between some of the stones on the anniversary ring.  (See on the right side in the picture above).  I thought, “That looks odd,” so I started to take it off to check it out more closely and I noticed there was something funny about the shape of the ring itself.  
I had to use soap and water to get the rings off my finger.  This is what they looked like:

I was shocked!  I do not remember catching them on anything or hitting my hand, and if I did something so forceful as to change the shape of my rings, wouldn’t there be some sort of a bruise?  Other than the indentation from wearing a ring on this finger for 30+ years, it does not look any different than the rest of my fingers!  

 It felt naked though, so I put another ring on it for now.

I don’t know what I am going to do about my wedding ring.  Perhaps the jeweler can bend them back into shape?  Perhaps after 30 years it’s time for an upgrade?  We’ll see.  For now, it’s a just a mystery.  

About scr4pl80

I'm a 60-ish, married, mom to 3, creative soul.
This entry was posted in 30 years, anniversary, diamonds, mystery, romance, shape, Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ring Around My Finger

  1. Janet Miles says:

    It seemed to me that to be so our of shape I had to have done something to my hand! Interestingly, when I suggested perhaps getting something new, my husband got very upset. He thought it was as if I was saying I didn't love them (him?) anymore! So, I will just be getting them repaired if possible. Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

  2. I've had that happen with a couple rings as well Janet. I don't think it's the result of one or two good bangs, but rather an accumulation of dings. Metals are more malleable than one might think. Kind of amazing though to see what new shape they've formed.

    My vote is for upgrading – how fun to choose something new you'll love.

    Like

Comments are closed.