Get A Different Name Day

Today is Get a Different Name Day.  My name is Janet.  I happen to be very happy with that name.  There are some famous Janet’s:  Janet Jackson, Janet Evanovich and Janet Leigh, just to name a few.  A singer, a writer and an actress.  No wonder I like to be crafty!  

I had no say in my name.  In my family, I have three sisters.  All of our names begin with a “J” (Jo Anne – named for my mother, Josephine, and her twin sister, Antoinette; Judy – named by another one of the aunts; Janet – my name was picked by Jo Anne and Judy; and Jaye – named by the neighbors because it had to be a “J” name).      

I’m the cute one, bottom left.

I didn’t realize it until a few years ago but there is even a song, “Damn it Janet” from the Rocky Horror Show!  I wouldn’t mind getting confused with that Janet (Susan Sarandon)!
In my class during elementary school, there were 3 other Janet’s and a Janis (I went to a Catholic school so we were together for eight years).  Guess that was a pretty popular name around 1955!  
While I did not change my name, I did go by the nickname “Jan” for a long period of time.  I remember that I was in Bryman School for medical assisting shortly after high school and one of my classmates said I should shorten it from Janet to Jan because if a doctor needed me in a hurry, Jan was only one syllable, not two.  Interestingly, I introduced myself to everyone as Jan after that.  Even my husband called me Jan and our first mortgage papers show me as Jan.  About 12 years ago, when I was starting my own transcription business, I went back to using my full name and found I really liked it.  My Etsy site, Facebook page and craft business is “ASmile4UfromJanet.”  
So, given that today is a day that you can change your name if you want, what name would you pick?  I can’t think of anything I would rather be named.  Any suggestions?    
About scr4pl80

I'm a 60-ish, married, mom to 3, creative soul.
This entry was posted in Bryman school, Catholic school, Change your name; famous Janet, Janet Evanovich, Janet Jackson, Janet Leigh, name, sisters. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Get A Different Name Day

  1. Janet Miles says:

    I think Valentine is an interesting name.

    Like

  2. What a fun query. I like my name Deborah especially knowing it means Bee. I went by Debbie as a child, but I really don't like the diminutive. If I had to change my name I'd likely choose Valentine. There are a number of Valentines in my family tree and I think it's charming.

    Like

Comments are closed.